Sarah Garrett MBE is the LGBT awards co-founder

Business leaders and global corporations including Barclays, HCBC, IBM, and Tesco Bank have been shortlisted for a series of top accolades ahead of the NatWest sponsored British LGBT Awards which will take place at a glittering ceremony in London on 12 May.

The awards, which are now Britain’s biggest LGBT awards event, celebrate individuals and organisations that work to promote equality and advance LGBT rights.  Accolades will acknowledge milestones in politics, media, grassroots activism and the corporate world at the event dubbed Britain’s ‘gay Oscars’, which is now in its fifth year.

PwC, J.P. Morgan, AON and EDF Energy are amongst those shortlisted for the Employer of the Year Award.

They have all been shortlisted for demonstrating an outstanding commitment to equality and diversity in the workplace.

Benny Higgins, Chief Executive of Tesco Bank, Tamara Box, Managing Partner at law firm Reed Smith and Karin Cook, Group Director at Lloyds are shortlisted for the ‘Corporate Straight Ally of the Year’ award. They face a battle against Jan-Coos Geesink, Global Head of Sales & Marketing at Thomson Reuters who is shortlisted in the same category.

Other leading business names nominated for awards include Rafael Campos Valdez, Diversity and Inclusion Manager at TSB.

Meanwhile, a number of corporate names have been shortlisted in the Inspirational Leader category including Mx Pips Bruce, Director at Credit Suisse, Daniel Gerring, Partner at Travers Smith and Nick Crofts, President of the National Members Council at the Co-Op.

A number of celebrities are also in the running for awards. Lady Gaga, Madonna, Paul O’Grady, Sue Perkins and Sir Elton John are all shortlisted.

Commenting on the shortlist, awards co-founder Sarah Garrett MBE, said:

 “The 2017 NatWest British LGBT Awards shortlist features inspirational people who have and continue to use their platform to promote and enhance LGBT rights all over the world.

All nominees are absolutely deserving of their place on the shortlist but it is now down to the public to choose their winners ahead of the ceremony which is set to be the biggest yet when it takes place in London on 12 May.”

The full list of categories and nominees is available at